The Dignity of Gorillas


My sister sent me this video, and I have t say that it made my day. I can’t imagine anyone not being moved by the emotions on display in the video.

Personally, I think it shows a purity we don’t often get to witness in animals. Nobody should doubt or feel ashamed that we are, in fact, related to these spectacular creatures.

The sad truth is that these shy and peaceful animals are endangered because humans don’t understand or respect them.

We are a  shortsighted and destructive race.

The evidence in the video, I believe, underscores our responsibility to preserve them and their habitats for generations to come. I implore anyone who watches the video to donate to the Gorilla Fund started by renowned zoologist Dian Fossey (link is at the bottom). It is a great charity that not only helps Gorillas but also aids those people that live in and around those areas.

“When you realize the value of all life, you dwell less on what is past and concentrate more on the preservation of the future.” – Dian Fossey

Get involved here: http://gorillafund.org/page.aspx?pid=183

Ω

Leave a Reply

